Nominations for the National Service User Awards 2023 are now open!

We are delighted to announce that nominations for the 2023 National Service User Awards are now open. We would like to invite all individuals accessing mental health, learning disability and autism services across the UK to showcase their achievements and submit a nomination.

Our selection of finalists will be invited to our exclusive awards ceremony, taking place on Wednesday 20th September at the Treetops Pavilion, West Midlands Safari Park.

To view interviews and highlights from last year’s award ceremony watch the video below.

Our 2023 categories are brand new and have been created following the focus group held in February. Service users and residents shared with us the types of achievements they would like to see recognised, along with the key values they associate with the awards.

Each category below is looking for examples of service user led projects that have made a difference at service, regional or a national level. Projects must be co-produced with service users or residents as a minimum. Any projects developed or delivered solely by staff will not be accepted.

Lived Experience Leader Award
This category is for individuals with lived experience of mental health needs, learning disabilities or autism, who have driven projects forward and shown the qualities of a leader. It for those who have inspired others and made a difference at service level to national level.

Celebrating Diversity Award
This category recognises individual’s or group projects that are working to not only spread awareness and encourage acceptance, but to strive for all of our differences to be celebrated. These projects may focus on diversity of any kind, including cultural, neuro-diversity, gender identity and more.

Hope and Positivity Award
This Award recognises the power of small actions making a big difference. It recognises individuals that are consistently looking out for others and spreading hope and positivity.

Innovation in Recovery Award
The innovation in recovery category is for projects that are innovative and unique, that haven’t been seen before within services. They should be supportive of recovery, whilst showing a creative or original point of view.

Community and Collaboration Award
The Award recognises projects that have brought communities, teams, families, carers and/or services together. We would like to hear about teamwork and outreach.

In addition the Mark Britton Service User Choice Award will return for the 2023 awards and will be decided at the awards ceremony by live vote. Guests will have the opportunity to vote for a runner up in each category, leaving five projects for a final vote at the end of the day. The award is named in memory of Mark Britton, to commemorate the life of an individual who was key to the awards in previous years and who sadly passed away in July 2019.

To submit a nomination please complete the online nomination form. The deadline for submitting nominations is Friday 7th July.

Make a nomination

We have a top tips poster that can be downloaded below to give guidance on making a good nomination.

Download top tips for making a good nomination
508.85 KB

We encourage as many services to get involved in the Awards so please do share this information with service users, residents and colleagues.

Download Nominations Poster
253.30 KB

If you have any questions about nominating or the awards in general, please contact us on [email protected]

Good luck!

Share this article